Condor’s Rule Over The WEAK: Continuation

Condor's Rule Over The WEAK!Continuation Rule

The Continuation Rule in Ultimate is complex enough that it makes sense to spend this week’s segment explaining it.

To properly explain it the following definitions are needed:
Act of Throwing: The motion that transfers momentum from the thrower to the disc that causes it to take flight. A pivot or a wind up are not considered part of the act of throwing. Think of this as the moments before you release the disc to attempt a pass.

The continuation rule applies anytime an infraction (read foul, travel, pick etc) is called. Play stops when the thrower acknowledges the infraction. If the disc is in the air or the thrower is in the act of throwing or if the thrower attempts a pass without acknowledging the infraction, play continues until the outcome of the pass is determined. Play stops or continues based on the answers to the following questions (Think of it as a choose your own adventure book):

1) Was the infraction called by the thrower?
Yes: Proceed to #2
No: Proceed to #5

2) Was the infraction called before the thrower was in the act of throwing?
Yes: Proceed to #2a
No: Proceed to #3

2a) Was the pass complete?
Yes: Return the disc to the thrower
No: Play continues un-halted and players should announce “Play On”

3) Was the infraction called while the thrower was in the act of throwing?
Yes: Proceed to #3a
No: Proceed to #4

3a) Was the pass complete?
Yes: Play continues un-halted and players should announce “Play On”
No: Return the disc to the thrower

4) Was the infraction called after the throw was released?
Yes: The infraction is considered to have been called by a non-thrower (Proceed to #5)
No: You missed something… Start back at #1

5) Did the team who has possession call the infraction?
Yes: Proceed to #5a (Offense called the infraction)
No: Proceed to #5b (Defence called the infraction)

5a) If the infraction was called before the thrower is in the act of throwing, play stop and the disc is returned to the thrower. If the thrower was in the act of throwing play continues un-halted and players should announce “Play On”

5b) Did the infraction Affect Play?
Yes: Return the disc to the thrower
No: Result of the play stands and play stops

At this point it is important to explain when an infraction affects play. Generally speaking if the outcome of the play could have be different without the infraction, it has affected play. It is important to note that if the outcome of the play would not have changed without the infraction, play has not been affected. An example of this would be a defensive player fouls an offensive player but the disc sails out of bounds, in this case the result of the play would not change due to the foul and play is therefore not affected.

Another point of confusion that bears mentioning is that reacting to the call of an infraction is not considered to have affected play. This means if you stop moving after hearing an infraction call and miss out on a defensive or offensive play it is tough luck.

Other Resources:

  1. For information on HOW to handle call.
    http://wfdf.org/sotg/about-sotg/77-be-calm-strategy
  2. For information on this and other rules:
    http://www.usaultimate.org/resources/officiating/rules/11th_edition_rules.aspx
  3. Full series of “Condor’s Rules Over The WEAK
This entry was posted in Rules, Ultimate. Bookmark the permalink.