Condor’s Rule Over The WEAK: Positioning After A Call

Condor

After our last segment describing infractions a common question is “Where am I suppose to be when play restarts?”

The following explains the different situations that can occur.

If the thrower acknowledged the infraction before attempting a pass all players return to the location that they occupied at the time of the call.

If the thrower attempts a pass after the infraction was called or the disc is in the air at the time of the infraction and the disc is returned to the thrower; players return to the locations they occupied at the earlier of:
a) The time of the throw
b) The time of the call

This means that any lead or advantage an offensive player had at the time of the call or throw becomes re-established before play restarts.

If the thrower attempts a pass after the infraction was called or the disc is in the air at the time of the infraction and the play stands; players return to the locations they occupied at the time play stopped.

After a travel call, players return to the locations they occupied at the time of the call.

When determining spacing and positioning of players after calls it is important to remember that it is meant to return the game to the position it was in at the time of the infraction and it is a best guess by the players involved.. This should not be used to take advantage of another player by improving your position. It is best to communicate with players on the other team to settle on restart positioning.

Other Resources:

  1. For information on HOW to handle call.
    http://wfdf.org/sotg/about-sotg/77-be-calm-strategy
  2. For information on this and other rules:
    http://www.usaultimate.org/resources/officiating/rules/11th_edition_rules.aspx
  3. Full series of “Condor’s Rules Over The WEAK
This entry was posted in Rules, Ultimate. Bookmark the permalink.